Meet the Queen You Haven’t Met (Yet)

I am Andrea, the Queen of Melbourne. Royal daughter of the King of kings. No less.

I love God above all. I am a happy Catholic.

2015-06-26 10.03.32

I was born, raised and met my Prince Charming in the Philippines, the country dearest to me.

We have been blessed with 7 children.  We have one in heaven, Angelo. They are our greatest treasure.

2015-05-04 12.23.59

Where your treasure is, your heart will be.

In February 2012, we decided to migrate from Singapore to Melbourne not knowing what the move fully entailed.

Our life was and will never be the same again.

I quit my lucrative banking job in the city state to be with our young children full time in one of Melbourne’s eastern suburbs.

I stopped looking back.

In Melbourne, I learned how to cook with one hand while the other one carries a baby, to put a baby or myself to sleep amidst four other noisy young children, to clean a double-story house, to drive through the freeway, to survive winter and heat waves, to care for my sick children while I shivered with a fever, to enjoy my children as my best friends, to see my husband at night as my day’s highlight.

In other words, I became a woman, a full pledged mother. My children taught me to find felicity at home, to serve joyfully. They are my life’s most inspiring teachers.

2014-05-12 11.48.31

I discovered that service is nobility.

Let the greatest among you be the servant of all.

We started homeschooling the Melbourne Royals this year. They deserve the best. We never expected that learning can be so much fun for all of us. No rigid rules, no fixed schedules.

They learn from the naturalness of our daily lives.

IMAG1515

Just couple of weeks back, our youngest child finally slept through the night. After 7 years since having our first born, I finally got my sweetest reward: uninterrupted sleep. And I am having such a glorious celebration and not done with it yet.

Motherhood is divine.

Last May, my husband and I celebrated our 8th year of marriage. I love him more each day not only because he provides for everything that we need but because he treats me like a queen. I always feel highly valued and extraordinary when I’m around him.

Show your wife you appreciate her company a lot and that you prefer to be at home rather than outside, because she is there. Show her a preference among all your friends and even above the children she has given you; love them because of her ….(St John Chrysostom’s advice to Christian couples).

Plus, he is amazing with the children. They all revere him. So do I.

2014-03-08 22.55.28-1

Marriage is a profound journey of love.

And I believe every mother is rightfully a queen.

