Weekend Renovation: The Cloudberry Project

This is a repost from my Chronicles of Rea blog which has turned private.

I can’t get enough of it. And maybe you can get some ideas here and there for simple renovations.


There is a room built annexed to our White House.
It wasn’t part of the original design.

2014-03-04 12.01.38

The previous owner built and used it as a prayer room. Everything was painted white.

2014-03-10 14.01.51

I had no clue what to do with it initially.

We stored everything we didn’t need or like in that place.

Then Anton came along.
We needed a space where the children can be
as loud as they can be without waking up the baby.

The rumpus was the perfect solution.
It was isolated and was next to the garden.

Then homeschooling was born.
Suddenly, the rumpus was more important than ever.
It became the center of learning for us.

The white walls became too boring.
The spiders too distracting.
The floor too plain.

Elmer took action and renovated the entire room
over two days of a long weekend.

2014-03-10 14.30.18

Now you have an idea of who and how he is.

Craft materials, lego, books, whatever dumped on the table.
I chose the dainty wallpaper patterns and the Cloudberry-colored paint for the walls.

Elmer executed my idea, my design.

2014-03-10 14.02.20

I thought its best to turn it into a conservatory.
With glass doors and walls on parallel sides
and columns of transparent roofs.

Sunlight freely coming in from all over.
With a fantastic view of the garden and the playground.

2014-03-10 14.30.13

The right side wall was covered with layers of wall papers.
We’ve turned the left side into a life-sized blackboard.
Free to draw and write whatever you like.

2014-03-12 19.55.55

We’ve added carpets from Ikea to add life to the parquet flooring.

2014-03-12 19.50.52

Its a dream come true for me.

I remember wanting to become a teacher
when I was in grade school because I wanted
to write on a blackboard.

Splendid!

2014-03-12 19.51.43

Torquoise blackboard juxtaposed to my Cloudberry wall.

This used-to-be unwanted room turned
out to be a real delight for me.

I almost want to spend most of my day there.

The children are equally ecstatic.
They just drew the Notre Dame Cathedral today.
I was mesmerized at their art work.

2014-03-12 19.56.56

The rumpus is officially called the White House School now.
What a lovely school it is.

I love our newly done room.
I love this Cloudberry Project.

I love my life.

