That Day I Had 9 Children

It was one of those rare, glorious winter days when the sun was up for most of the day.

Felt like spring time in July.

2014-07-02 11.46.56

I was intent in catching up with our homeschool backlog. I was unwell for two weeks last month so that meant holidays for the kids.

While the rest of the mainstream students were on their 2-week break, we were busy with our studies.

Then, my friend called requesting if her only daughter, 7-year old, could stay with us for most of the day. She got a sudden call from her agent for a second job interview.

2014-07-02 11.52.04

I happily obliged. The more students, the merrier. Anything to help out a friend.

While the kids were busy playing in the sun, I received another call from another friend asking if her 3 children can stay with me. She needed to pickup their car from the maintenance shop which is a bit of distance.

2014-07-02 17.02.00

Whatever serious plans I made of catching up with our school schedule immediately evaporated in my mind.

Anything to help someone in need.

So I had 9 children that sunny winter day. Pinalabas ko muna si Tatay, baka atakihin sa puso.

I can handle 5 kids of my own but 9? I don’t know. While I was still figuring out what to do, the eldest, 13-year old girl, among the group took action. She brought them all to the garden. She played and read books with them. I gave them some jam rolls and custard bread for tea.

That was it. They totally forgot about me. They were happily oblivious of their mother that I was able to put Anton to sleep for 2 hours, I did my prayers, I prepared chorizo-lentil soup for dinner and I managed to steal a nap amidst the chaos.

I got too exhausted worrying over nothing.

2014-07-02 12.53.59

I just needed one responsible highschooler. I can’t believe how they managed and had tons of fun.

I told their grateful mothers that I had a fine time that day. My children were asking when will their friends come again.

9 kids, no sweat!

