Ridiculously Easy Pinaupuang Manok (Sitting Chicken)

This recipe was passed down to me by my Yaya Angie just right before we left Singapore for Melbourne. This is a wonderful dish for the entire family. I like cooking this when I’m super pressed for time (i.e. I have to attend a behavioral management session in the morning or I have to bring the kids to the GP) or when I’m just too tired to think of something yummy to cook.

Ingredients
1 whole chicken, cleaned
2 large ripe tomatoes
3 creamy potatoes, peeled
2 brown onions, peeled
1 can Reno or Purefoods liver spread
1 tbsp iodized salt

2014-07-05 17.52.45

Procedure

1. Combine liver spread and salt.
2. Marinade chicken with (1). Leave it for at least 2 hours.
3. Cut tomatoes, onions and potatoes into flat, circular slices. Then layer them in the same sequence at the bottom of a casserole (forming a bed for the chicken). Add the marinated chicken on top of the vegetables. Seal the casserole with aluminum foil then put on the lid. Cook in the stove at the lowest heat possible for 1 hour.
4. After slow cooking the chicken, transfer it to a tray and roast in a preheated 200 degrees C oven for 30 minutes.
5. Before serving, add in the slow cooked vegetables on top of the roasted chicken. Great with rice.

2012-08-22 19.04.22

One of my favorite comfort foods.


Notes:

1. The whole dish taste better if you use  free range or corn-fed chicken. Organic chicken are nice to have but way out of my budget.
2. Reno or Purefood liver spreads are available in Asian groceries. If you can’t find them, you can also use chicken pate (c. 100 grams). I usually use  Normandie pate (Chicken with Cointreau) from Coles.

