MasterChef’s Never Fail Cake

Julie Goodwin and I are not close.

Yet.

You see. Julie Goodwin is Australia’s first MasterChef.

I didn’t take her seriously until I tried her Never Fail Cake recipe. I think she will become one of my best mates.

The Melbourne Royals baked this cake with me. Lots of batter flying here and there. Ongoing negotiations on who gets to lick the mixer and mixing bowl.

Typical baking fun with kids.

2014-07-08 17.32.06

I was losing my marbles looking for the spatula until I saw this.

2014-07-08 17.37.38

Too.darn.cute.

Here’s the recipe for your baking pleasure:

Ingredients:

250 g unsalted butter
2 cups (440 g) Sugar
4 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
3 cups (450 g) self raising flour
1 1/2 cups (375ml) fresh milk
pinch of salt

Procedure:
Preheat the oven to 180C. Lightly grease a 26cm spring form tin and line the base with non-stick baking paper. Using an electric beater beat the butter and sugar until light and creamy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition, then beat in the vanilla essence and salt.

Stir in 1 cup (150g) of the flour, then 1/2 cup (125ml) of the milk. Repeat until all the flour and milk is used and make sure there are no lumps in the batter. Transfer to the prepared cake tin.

Bake for about 45 minutes until the cake springs back gently when touched in the middle and comes away from the edges of the pan. Cool in the tin for 5 minutes, and then release the sides and cool completely on a wire rack before adding icing of your choice.

2014-07-08 18.55.31

I wanted to keep the cake as it is. Sweet and moist enough for my taste. I served it with vanilla yogurt and fresh fruits for dessert.

Delightful!

2014-07-08 20.46.15


Notes:

1. Recipe was taken from Julie Goodwin’s Our Family Table recipe book.

2. I sprinkled a bit of icing sugar on top to dress it up.

