Why Homeschool?

I wrote this post when we were at the verge of homeschooling the kids. 

My views about homeschooling haven’t changed hence. As a matter of fact, I found homeschooling and the lifestyle change intertwined with it completely liberating.

From the Best of the Chronicles of Rea


 I must confess that our decision to homeschool our children wasn’t instant nor an easy one.

It has matured over a considerable amount of time.
More like years.

2014-07-15 13.11.49

The idea of homeschooling was introduced to me when Sasha was 2 years old. I instantly fell in love with it.
However, it took me four years and 3 schooling children to get around it.

It all started with a question.
Are we giving the best education we can afford to our children?

IMAG0501

Definitely the Grammar Schools are way out of our league.
The Opus Dei School is just about to open in 2016.
The Catholic School where they were enrolled has a good academic standing but I am not convinced that character and spiritual formation was its key strength.

I have yet to see a teacher drop by the nearby church before class started. I believe interior life is important, essential.
You can’t teach what you don’t have.

The last thing I want is a son who turns out to be a brilliant surgeon
but only does it for less nobler reasons.

2014-07-08 16.34.31

The idea of homeschooling, which I have tried to evade, came back to me.

If I really want the best Catholic education for our children that is affordable, we have to give it ourselves.

After all, parents are the primary
educator of their children.

I want them not to know the Catholic faith.
I want them to experience it, to embrace it,
to love it.

Our faith is the best thing we can give them.

I am also a student by heart.
I love learning.
I am passionate about sharing it too.

Homeschooling will allow me to design curricula which will
tailor fit to each of our children’s unique interests and needs.

Class ratio cannot be better.
1:5
Even the most expensive private school cannot sustain that.

2014-07-07 13.16.29

We will focus on learning in a natural environment.
Lots of nature trips, garden discussion, kitchen conversation, bedroom talks.

Our classroom will not be confined in a four-wall room.

Learning will be boundless.

2014-07-03 14.41.05

Learning will be fun.

We want to form their character at an early age.
Melbourne is not a place for softies.
They have to learn to appreciate housework, hard work.
Better earlier than later.

2014-06-15 19.15.18

We want them to learn how to take everything in life then filter it within. The bad and the good. The sorrow and the joy.

We will be there to guide them through.
They will learn from their parents and not their peers.

2014-07-03 14.38.50

No more exorbitant tuition fees.
No more detrimental viruses which can turn our lives upside down.
No more rushing in the morning or at pick-up times.
No more expensive uniforms.
No more packed lunches which take me at least an hour to prepare.
No more bullying and mean kids stories.
No more foul languages.
No more spitting.

Plus, I don’t have to work anymore to afford those expensive high school tuition fees.

2014-07-03 14.45.45

How about their social skills?

I have yet to meet a homeschooled child who is not better socially than a child who goes to a mainstream school. I noticed that they share a certain enviable closeness with their parents and they are comfortable talking to people of all ages.
Let’s keep it at that.

Our vision for our children is for them to lead holy and adventurous lives.

We’ll start it here, right at the heart of home.

One thought on “Why Homeschool?

  1. Pingback: The Queen’s Year in Stills | Diary of a Domestic Queen

Comments are closed.