As Simple As It Gets: Creamy Coconut Cookies

We first tasted this cookies at a friend’s house. She has 9 kids. I thought “how in the world can she find the time to make such meltdown-in-your-mouth cookies and take care of 9 kids?“.

Elmer and the kids raved about it.

Then I asked her for the recipe which she kindly shared. It occurred to me that I can bake this on a whim, even my kids can make this on their own.

You know what? Nina, my 4-year-old, nailed it with a little help from Kuya Pio.

Won’t keep the recipe for long. More than happy to share.

Ingredients:
1 cup self-raising flour
1 cup dessicated coconut
1 cup sugar
125g melted butter
1 well beaten egg

Procedure:
Mix dry ingredients together, then add melted butter and beaten egg. Stir well. Roll into balls. Arrange on baking tray, lined with baking paper.

2014-08-17 11.28.02

Bake for about 10-12 minutes at 160 degrees C.

2014-08-17 11.54.17

It doesn’t get anymore simpler than this.

2014-08-17 18.11.19

I love the aroma of newly-baked cookies. It warms up the house.

