Redefine Myself

I read this beautiful article from the Opus Dei website about a 24-year old Catholic Kenyan, Daniel Adongo, who transitioned from playing rugby to NFL. He sustained a season ending bicep injury on his first play.

What amazes me about this young man was how he responded to this career-threatening injury.

My faith is not going to waver just because I got injured. It’s part of the game. I’m not going to wallow in disappointment. Absolutely not. I’m looking forward to redefining myself, finding myself in this challenging time and looking for a better way to do things and come back even stronger.”

I wish we have more young 24-year olds like him. Passionate and firmly grounded in his faith.

So talking about redefinition. I decided to take a change for my weekly treat. Instead of ordering my usual extra hot cappuccino, I completely went out on a limb and asked for iced cafe mocha with vanilla ice cream at Brunetti.

2014-09-13 16.29.49

I drank it,  al fresco. I enjoyed it so much I forgot I was surrounded by four noisy but obviously happy kids. Now I figured why the other customers were looking at us.

2014-09-13 16.33.20

Note to self: Keep on trying something new.

