An Invincible Summer

I don’t want to depress you with my (all-day) morning sickness woes. Suffice to say that it’s the worst of all my pregnancies. I feel for all pregnant mothers.

I felt unusually fine last Sunday afternoon. Too fine, I baked Pineapple, Cinnamon and Allspice Cake from Tessa Kiros’ Falling Cloudberries recipe book. It’s a welcome change from our indulgent chocolate cakes.

I have these...

I have these…

So I made this.

So I made this.

Anton loved it. But then again, this toddler eats almost everything.

I felt well enough that I requested Elmer to drive us out of the house. I have been a different person since my morning sickness kicked in. I hated coffee and sweets, I don’t have the energy to bake, I don’t like to go out, I lost my inspiration to write, I can’t take Elmer’s scent.

I’m just praying that I continue to feel fine. But I promised myself that I will take out my focus on the physical pain which I am enduring and turn the spotlight to the many happy joys surrounding me.

That’s more worth it.

I found this quote which I had kept for years and unknowingly filed in Elmer’s folder. This is for all beautiful mothers:

The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggles, known loss and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.

In the midst of winter I found an invincible summer. 

-Albert Camus

