Turning Chinese on Palm Sunday

The Captain asked me what was the special occasion. Why was I cooking tofu and stir-fried noodles? Never cooked both at the same time.

I’ve never really thought about it. I just know he loves both dishes. I’m sure he thoroughly enjoyed lunch because he ate ahead of the pack and he wasn’t answering Tatay’s questions while they were eating.

That is a good sign. Actually, its his way of saying that I’m having such an amazing treat.

Here’s the menu:

Char Kway Teow.

2015-03-29 12.15.12

I’ve modified the recipe heavily. Instead of adding in 1/2 cup of soy sauce, I just put in 1/4 cup of light soy sauce. I’ve omitted the prawns and chicken because I don’t have it. But I’ve added grilled salmon (left over from last night’s dinner), shiitake mushroom and chicharon.

Sweet Chilli-Glazed Tofu

2015-03-29 12.01.31

Ghirardelli Brownies baked by the Kids

2015-03-29 12.13.17

(You can buy this brownie mix from Cosco. It’s yummo.)

The Captain then took the kids out so I can have a bit of time off.

I look forward to this ME time. Keeps me sane.

