Brunswick East Project’s Raspberry Coconut Muffins

I like any recipe with coconut in it. The Captain loves coconut. So when I found this Brunswick East Project recipe, I never let it go without giving it a try.

Baked it in a daze for breakfast yesterday. I didn’t have raspberries on hand so I just used frozen blueberries. I topped it with dark chocolate chips because I’m crazy about chocolate.

Sasha said we should have it everyday. She ate about 6 muffins out of 18 we made. That’s ALOT for her type.

But I’m not complaining.

2015-03-25 07.55.02

Ingredients:
2 cups self-raising flour
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup dessicated coconut
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup natural yoghurt
1/2 cup canola oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 1/2 cups raspberries fresh or frozen
100 grams dark chocolate chips

2015-03-25 08.02.59

To make:
Lightly grease muffins pan or line with paper cases. Sift flour into a large mixing bowl. Add brown sugar and coconut and mix to combine.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, yoghurt, oil, egg and vanilla. Combine wet and dry ingredients and gently mix until almost incorporated. Add the berries last and stir through to combine, take care not to overmix.
Spoon mixture into pan and bake in preheated 180C oven for 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer to a cake rack to cool and serve with dusting of icing sugar.


The true secret to perfect, soft muffins is not to overmix. The old adage says no more than 15-16 strokes for a muffin batter. “Apricots and Apron Strings” by Julie Jansen 2011

