Homeschooling: After Birth

What?!?!

Teach the kids and take care of a newborn?

I can’t even get out of bed in the morning.

How do we get back to normal programming?

The long and short answer is: we don’t.

2015-05-25 11.55.34

At least not how I formally define homeschooling where we all sit together for at least 3 hours in the morning and follow a schedule.

Does that bother me? Of course.

I am Mrs Structure. I need to stick to a plan.

But are there other ways of unstructured learning?

The long and short answer is: yes. I call it PLAY.

2015-05-25 11.56.37-1

I know as long as I turn off the screens, the kids will turn to creativity to amuse themselves.

There is no other option.

Pio builds Lego without instructions. Sasha draws, paints and reads profusely. Luis tinkers with gadgets and bikes. Nina follows whatever the rest are doing. While Anton drives my Father crazy.

2015-05-21 13.02.27

I have seen them make houses out of plastic sticks, create space ships, turn an area of our garden into wonderland, hand knit, create their own Hanging Garden of Babylon…

They have so many projects. I see collaboration in the works.

2015-06-02 14.32.29

I ask myself: Are they learning? I think so.

I have started injecting math, reading and journal writing back into their days.

I guess it’s my way of placing back a resemblance of routine in our life. You know me.

I think the kids prefer the other way.

I am also learning to meet them there.

If all else fail, I can always convince myself that they can end up as bakers or chefs after all those bustling in the kitchen. I heard it’s a skill which is pretty in demand this side of town.

2015-05-25 17.02.30

While I’m earning my double degree in patience and flexibility.

It’s a win-win after all.

Leave a Reply

