Be Still, My Love

Let’s go to the other extreme, from the most talkative to the quietest.

The greatest challenge for me as a teacher is to keep this boy settled. He is harder to pin down than Pio.

He rides his bikes instead of writing his journal. He asks for breaks every 5 minutes. He gets distracted with every alarm (doorbell, baby crying through the monitor, oven, washing machine, phone ringing,etc).

I don’t know how to gauge how much he is learning. He is tinkering something while I’m reading all of them a book. He reads Garfield comics instead of Charlotte’s Web. He jumps with Anton at the trampoline instead of doing his handwriting.

Then he showed me his mini-books.

I read it and I almost jumped out of joy.

2015-07-16 16.14.33

Luis’ mini books

It goes like this…

2015-07-16 16.15.08

Our house inside a ship

2015-07-16 16.15.25

I like to bike, play Wii and go to Jacob’s house and play Lego. Almost the end.

2015-07-16 16.15.34

I like what Daddy likes. The end.

Moments like this make me feel absolutely rewarded as a mother and a teacher.

He is after all learning something in his own way.

While folding clothes and keeping Kiko company

While folding clothes and keeping Kiko company

Luis, I love you no matter what. I know you feel the same way about your Mom.

Leave a Reply

