Let’s Get This Straight: Marriage is Sacred

I have been greatly disturbed by the recent changes in how some countries define marriage.

I am sure most of us have an opinion on this. I have my views as well. Fairly strong ones.

I have been married for 9 years. Happily, thankfully. We have been blessed with 6 children.

I am an engineer by training so I express myself best in equations.

Marriage= Man + Woman + God

For those who don’t believe in God, I think I’ve lost you at this point. But for those who do or are sincerely seeking Him out, hear me out.

Marriage is first and foremost a sacrament. It was instituted by Christ to be between a man and a woman and no supreme court can change that truth.

The Bible has been crystal clear on this matter. Read Matthew 19:4-6.

…“that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh. So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.”…

Christ wanted it to be a fountain of grace. He wanted to reassure us that He will be with us through thick and thin, in sickness and I health, for richer or poorer until death do us part.

He has given us His divine guarantee that He will help us through and through. He will never default.

Self giving, not unbridled pleasure,  is the real essence of marriage. It has to reflect Christ’s love for the Church. There has to be a total gift of self.

_MG_6101

It has to make us holy. Holy people are happy people. Authentic happiness is spiritual not carnal.
Marriage should be fruitful. If you love a person so much, you want more of him through his children. It completely escapes me how children can be naturally formed in any other way. If people don’t revere God, that is their issue. But you have to understand that our bodies are temples of immortal souls. You have to respect it.
What goes around comes around.
Children NEED a father and a mother. The complementarity of their roles is imperative in the upbringing and education of children. Here’s an Open letter to the Gay Community from a woman who grew up with two mothers.
Children need to grow in a family within the loving protection of a father and the nurturing embrace of a mother. Any other alternative is not for the child’s utmost interest.
2015-08-26 10.26.59
Join me in praying along with many others to uphold the real essence of marriage.
One thought on “Let’s Get This Straight: Marriage is Sacred

  1. I am all for people having opinions and in mine I can only a agree that children need to be loved, nurtured and cared for. There are many instances in which children are born into families of A MUM AND DAD and don’t get treated how they should. so in that instance I think that if 2 DADS or 2 MUMS love, nurture and care for a child that is its best interest. The world is changing every day and people need to start realizing that. I cant see a reason why 2 men or 2 women cant have the same happy family that a man and wife have just because a book says so. it just doesn’t seem right they aren’t brainwashed to be this way, that’s just who they are and I don’t think its up to anyone else to judge them. but that’s just my thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

