Top 10 Things I’m Looking Forward in 2016

2015-12-30 16.03.52

10. Opening of the Harkaway Hills College

The PARED School is finally opening in February 2016 in Narre Warren North. Now taking in Prep and Year 1 students. Nina and Luis are part of the pioneer class.

9. Classical music lingering around the Hills.

Get this. A kind family gave us their electronic piano. It was perfect for decorative purposes. Until, I heard a child playing beautiful music with it. Guess who? Luis taught himself to use and play it. A music prodigy in the making. We are saving some money so he can attend formal piano lessons.

Classic!

8. Simplicity Parenting

I read Kim John Payne’s Simplicity Parenting book and I know it is one of those books which any serious parent has to take SERIOUSLY! There are so much simplifications he suggested in terms of the children’s physical environment, enrichment activities, rhythm, routine.

He’s no/minimal screen approach to parenting connected with me. I love it that he is encouraging parents to take free/unstructured play with primordial importance over any other enrichment activities in young children’s lives.

Good bye to hyper-parenting.

7. Transformed in Love: Marriage Preparation @ St Mary’s

I will be a part of a team which will give talks and prepare engaged Catholic couples for marriage. This is a serious matter. Marriage is under attack in our time that there are strong pressure against it even at the onset.

I am excited to share with them our love story.

Every marriage can be happy, fruitful and grace-filled.

6. Mastering the Art of Baking

I’ve been baking cakes, muffins, quiche but not enough breads!

2015-12-26 21.56.42

I love the aroma of newly cooked breads. I just adore it.

It’s time to borrow the Mastering the Art of Baking book by Anneka Manning again.

I’m sure my babyccinos will be thrilled kneading their frustrations away.

5. Oremus: Learning Latin

Yes!!! I am learning Latin with my Year 3 students. Well, we have nothing else to do!

Now the missal in Latin is beginning to make sense to me. My kids are absorbing the language like sponges.

4. More Families and Friends Over

It’s time for us to invite families over to our sanctuary. I’m confident enough that friends will enjoy our home cooked meals. I love hearing other families’ stories too over a cup of coffee.

2015-12-21 15.00.04

They are so edifying for me, for the Captain. The children get to make more friends too.

3. More Affection, Smiles and Laughter

No one will ever get enough of a hug, smile or a kind word. I want to have more of these. This is my favourite resolution for the year.

I will try my best to ignore the mess, noise and chaos.

2015-12-28 10.17.19

I will build an infinite loop reminder in my mind that I am with kids not angels.

2015-12-19 14.21.34

2. Ten Years of Wedded Bliss

My sister, Ann, said that she will be visiting us next year in May. What a perfect timing!!! Now all I have to do is to plan how and where the Captain and I will spend our milestone anniversary.

2015-12-30 16.03.27

I am super excited about this one.

1. More Contemplation, Less Dissipation

I learned that the more I think and talk to God during the day, the happier I am regardless of a gastro flu knocking my kids down one after the other, a lack of sleep, a hot week, an over scheduled day, an over anxious imagination.

If I do things for God, I’m sure He will be happy whether or not we have dinner at 6 pm or I have the kids in bed by 8 pm. He will be happy if the house is in total disarray despite my best effort to put it in order because the kids are constantly unleashing their creativity. He will be happy if I drop everything and give my husband a kiss once he reached home even though dinner is not cooked and we are running late.

I’m sure He will be happy because I am struggling, thriving, learning to be happy despite the odds.

2015-11-14 11.53.25

I am now more than ever, relying in His grace.

Leave a Reply

