Not Quite Nigella

You would think Nigella’s Italian Christmas Pudding is hard to make.

Not even.

No bake intended.

The way it looks calls for a celebration.

The taste lingers on months after.

I tweaked it a bit. Actually a lot.

I couldn’t find the panettone from the delicatessen so I ended up with Torte in festa. I’m happy I did.

I couldn’t find marrons glacés as well so I replaced it with cranberries coated nougat.

 

This was how my first layer of sponge looked like. Not at all glamorous.

2016-01-08 23.09.49

I sprinkled it with marsala because that is all I have. The recipe calls fortuaca liqueur. It doesn’t matter.

Carry on. We are not Nigella.

Now gorgeousness came to fore when I mixed my pistachio, nougat and chocolate chips to the mascarpone mixture.

2016-01-08 23.05.48

Then I layered up the tiramisu and ended with this beauty.

2016-01-09 11.49.50

Not pretty enough without the blush.

Pomegranate.

And this ladies and gentlemen is what I call a cake.

2016-01-09 11.58.27

2016-01-09 11.58.34

Divine.

Just what I need.

Leave a Reply

