Couldn’t Be Better: Five Years in Melbourne

Allow me to be nostalgic.

It’s been five years today since we took that flight off Singapore to Melbourne with four kids under 4 on tow and heaps of luggages.

2017-01-29-15-10-16

It was a one way ticket. I was determined to give it all up:- my banking career, my helpers, my structured life, my immaculate house, my overseas holidays with the Captain, my branded make-ups, my spas and pedicures. My father said that the move was suicidal.

I know. That’s how stubborn I am.

Anyway.

Little did I know that this job I signed up for is irrevocable, unconditional and will never earn me a cent!

Our first year in Australia turned me from a banker to a homemaker. I had to learn what I had to learn fast. I had to learn to cook, to drive, to look after 4 young kids while going through morning sickness, to clean the house. You name it, I learned it.

I almost lost my mind.

Then I learned that I can homeschool my own kids. Why homeschool?

I had some brains left. I can’t go to work to earn some money for a cuppa because I can’t take leaving my babyccinos behind.

2017-01-29-12-37-30

I would rather be the one left behind than the one who leaves to work. I even wrote a Letter About it to My Bestfriend, Tanya.

Might as well teach my own.

It was liberating to say the least. I still love it and will always do.

Of our 7 babyccinos, three were born here. Three boys in a row.

My comedic relief, Anton.

Whooping baby Kiko.

 The Seventh Wonder of the Yus, Jose.

2017-02-01-15-25-19

Last year, we finally decided to put Luis and Nina to Harkaway Hills College. We’ve been blessed with knowing incredibly beautiful and generous families from this PARED school. Truly inspiring.

@ the Family Picnic

I am certain that my life will never be easy. I’ve embraced that reality. It is how God wants it to be. Let it be. I am convinced that it’s the best thing I can ever have. Loving God’s will gave me a profound peace. Contentment and gratitude prevail.

After all, it is worthwhile-quitting my job to stay at home.

I finally found happiness @ home.

It’s been 3 months now since Jose was born. Dusts have finally settled. We’re all back to a routine. I’m getting about 7 hours of sleep at night. (It’s like winning a lottery if I get this much rest.) My own kids are helping me run the house now. I see them grow in virtue as I try to improve in mine.

I’ve never felt better, happier.

2017-01-29-15-15-09

The Captain and I are going to celebrate our 11th anniversary this May. Our lives Beyond I Do  just keeps on getting better. Thanks be to God.

Lately, I often catch myself thinking that truly, motherhood is the best job ever. Love is reciprocated. My babyccinos think that I am the greatest woman in the world.

For all that I have given up, I was blessed a hundredfolds back. Hopefully, one day, the payback will reflect in our bank account too.

Seriously, I don’t feel like I’m working anymore. I’m just loving every part of it.

Leave a Reply

